Centre for Teacher Education Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies Sarnath, Varanasi

A Brief Report on

New Education Policy 2020: In the context of Teacher Education

The National Education Policy 2020 (NEP 2020) which was approved by the Union Cabinet of India on 29 July 2020, outlines the vision of India's New Education system. The new policy replaces the existing NPE 1986. This new policy is a comprehensive framework for elementary education to higher education as well as vocational training in both rural and urban India. The policy aims to transform India's education system by 2030. In this regard Centre for Teacher Education under the SoE scheme of PMMMNMTT, Ministry of Education, Government of India, organised a one-day webinar and resource talk on the topic New Education Policy 2020: In the context of Teacher Education on 29th August 2020.

In lieu of Covid-19 pandemic, the resource talk took place on virtual platform like via Microsoft team and live on the Facebook page of Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies, assisted by the multimedia and computer section of CIHTS. The key speaker for this programme was Professor Asheesh Srivastava, Dean, School of Education, Mahatma Gandhi Central University, Motihari, Bihar. Dr Jay Prakash Singh and Dr Huma Kayoom, organizers of the workshop introduced to all the attendee about the objectives of the lecture.



The resource person, Professor Srivastava deliberated on the objective, vision, and prospectus of New Education Policy 2020 especially its effect on Teacher Education. It was also reflected that though, the policy is enough inclusive and broad, what matters most is the implementation of the same on a wide scale and since Teachers had been given utmost importance in this policy therefore **Teacher Education Institutes** should undergo certain **positive overhauling**.





As the programme was open for all, as many as 956 academicians, teacher educators, research scholars, students and other participants attended the programme through virtual platform. Dr Jay Prakash Singh formally welcome the speaker Professor Asheesh Srivastava, whereas Dr Huma Kayoom coordinated the lecture and presented the vote of thanks.

(This report is prepared by Dr Huma Kayoom, Assistant Professor, Education, CTE, CIHTS)