# Minutes of the 30<sup>th</sup> meeting of Academic Council of CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi held on June 30, 2020 at 11:00 a.m.

#### Conducted via

#### Video conferencing from Kamalsheel Bhawan, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi

#### The following members were present:

1.	Prof. Geshe Ngawang Samten, V.C., CIHTS, Varanasi	Chairman
2.	Prof. Lallan Mishra, B.H.U., Varanasi	Member
3.	Prof. M. R. Mehta, B.H.U., Varanasi	Member
4.	Prof. Ajay Pratap Singh, B.H.U., Varanasi	Member
5.	Prof. Lobsang Tenzin, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
6.	Prof. W. D. Negi, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
7.	Prof. Deo Raj Singh, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
8.	Prof. Jampa Samten, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
9.	Ven. G. L. L. Wangchuk, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
10.	Prof. D. D. Chaturvedi, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
11.	Ven. Lhakpa Tsering, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
12.	Dr. Jampa Chhophel, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
13.	Shri Jigma, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
	Dr. Tashi Tsering (J), CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
15.	Dr. U. C. Singh, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
	Dr. Tashi Tsering (T), CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
	Dr. Tashi Samphel, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Member
18.	Dr. R. K. Upadhyay, CIHTS, Sarnath, Varanasi	Non-Member Secretary

Prof. Lallan Mishra, B.H.U. could not attend the meeting.

At the outset, Hon'ble Chairman welcomed all the august members of the Academic Council. He specially thanked out-side members Prof. Lallan Mishra, Prof. Mukul Raj Mehta and Prof. Ajay Pratap for attending the meeting through video conferencing.

Thereafter, the agenda items were taken item-wise.

Item No. 30.1 Confirmation of Minutes of the Twenty ninth (29th) Academic Council meeting held on August 07, 2018.

The minutes of the last (29th) meeting of the Academic Council held on 07 August, 2018 was forwarded to all members of the Academic Council under letter No.CIHTS/Admin-I/ AC/2018-2540 dated 22 August, 2018 inviting comments/ suggestions, if any. Apart from Prof. K.P.Pandey, who suggested that the Institute should undertake the task of designing a proposed structure of content & method to be employed in the induction course to be conducted and which should reflect the consensus of the UGC guidelines, no other comments/ suggestions have so far been received from the Hon'ble members.

The suggestion of Prof. K.P.Pandey were endorsed by Hon'ble Chairman and the Council confirmed the Minutes of the Twenty Ninth (29<sup>th</sup>) meeting of Academic Council.

Item No. 30.2 Considering Action taken report on the decisions taken in its last (29th) Academic Council meeting held on August 07, 2018.

After perusal of the Report and discussions, the Council endorsed the same.

Item No. 30.3 Considering recommendation of the Board of Studies of Centre for Teachers Education to update the syllabus of 4 year integrated B.A.B.Ed. & B.Sc. B.Ed. courses.

After deliberate discussions on the recommendations, the Academic Council approved to update the syllabus.

Item No. 30.4 Considering recommendation of the Board of Studies of Department of Samajik Vigyan to update the syllabus of Economics of Purva Madyama, Uttar Madyama & Shastri.

After deliberate discussions on the recommendations, the Academic Council approved to update the syllabus.

Item No. 30.5 Considering recommendation of the Board of Studies of the Dept. of Classical & Modern Language to include Pali Language as an optional subject at PG Level.

After detailed discussions on the recommendations, the Academic Council approved to include Pali Language as an Optional subject at PG Level.

Item No. 30.6 Considering recommendation of the Board of Studies of Department of Sowa Rigpa to update the syllabus of BSRMS (U.G) & MD/MS (P.G) courses.

After detailed discussions on the recommendations, the Academic Council approved to update the syllabus of BSRMS (UG) & MD/MS (PG) courses.

Item No. 30.7 Considering the inclusion of course work in M. Phil./ Ph.D. programme.

After detailed discussions on the recommendations, the Academic Council approved the same.

Item No. 30.8 Considering starting of Ph.D. & short term courses in the Department of Sowa Rigpa.

After detailed discussions on the recommendations, the Academic Council approved to include Pali Language as an Optional subject at PG Level.

Item No. 30.9 Any other matter with the permission of Chairman.

Considering the proposal submitted by Sowa Rigpa Department to establish a "Sowa Rigpa Research Centre" in the Faculty of Sowa Rigpa, CIHTS to promote research activities in the field of Sowa Rigpa.

After deliberate discussions on the proposal, the Academic Council approved the same.

Thereafter, the meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Dr. Himanshu Pandey)

Registrar (Officiating)

(Prof. Geshe N. Samten) Vice Chancellor



18.

## Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies (Deemed University) Sarnath, Varanasi

CIHTS/AC/ Reconst /2020

Dated: 27.05.2020

### NOTIFICATION

Under the Clause 15 of the Rules of the Institute, the Academic Council of the Institute is reconstituted consisting of the following members with immediate effect: -

1.	Prof. Geshe N. Samten	Vice Chancellor, CIHTS	Chairman	
2.	Prof. K.P. Pandey Director, SHEPA (Society for Higher Educati Mohansarai Mughalsarai VI Nibia, Bachchaon, Varanasi			
3.	Geshe Dorjee Damdul Director, Tibet House 1, Institutional Area, Lodhi New Delhi- 110003	Nominee of Hon'ble Chairman of Society Member Road		
4.	Prof. Lallan Mishra Professor Emeritus and Ex-Head of Chemistry Depa BHU, Varanasi.	ssor Emeritus and ead of Chemistry Department		
5.	Prof. Mukul Raj Mehta Deptt. of Philosophy & Reli Faculty of Arts BHU, Varanasi.	Nominee of Hon'ble Chairman of Society Member gion,		
6.	Prof. Ajai Pratap Singh HOD- History Faculty of Social Sciences BHU, Varanasi- 221005	Nominee of Hon'ble Chairman of Society	Member	
7. 8. 9. 10. 11. 12. 13. 14. 15.	Prof. Lobsang Tenzin Prof. U.C. Singh Prof. W.D. Negi Prof. D.D. Chaturvedi Prof. Jampa Samten Prof. Tashi Tsering (S) Ven.G.L.L. Wangchuk Dr. Tashi Dawa Ven. Lhakpa Tsering Dr. Jampa Chophel Shri Jigme	Dean, Faculty of Sowa Rigpa Dean, Faculty of Adhunik Vidya Dean, Faculty of Hetu & Adhyatma Vidya Dean Faculty of Shabda Vidya Head, Deptt.of Social Science Head, Deptt.of Sampradaya Shastra Head, Deptt.of Bon Sampradaya Head, Deptt.of Sowa Rigpa Head, Deptt.of Tib.Languages & Lit. Head, Deptt.of Bhot Jyotish Head, Deptt.of Tib.Tradition. Fine Arts.	Member	
18.	Ven. Tenzin Norbu	Head, Deptt.of Mool Shastra	Member	

19.	Dr. R. C. Negi	Associate Professor in Kargyud Samp.	Member
20.	Ven. G.T. Chogdan	Associate Professor in Bon Samp.	Member
21.	Dr. Urgyen	Assistant Professor in Tib.History	Member
22.	Dr. Tashi Tsering (J)	Associate Professor in Jyotish, Bhot Jyotish	
23.	Dr. Tashi Tsering (T)	Associate Professor in Tibetan Language	Member

As envisaged in the sub-para (vii) of the Clause 15 of the Rules of the Institute, the terms of members other than ex-officio members shall expire on 19.6.2021. The terms of the members from serial No. 19 to 23 shall be for one year from the date of this notification.

(Dr. R. K. Upadhyay) Registrar

Copy forwarded for information and necessary action to:-

- 1. P.S. to Hon'ble Chairman of Institute, Secretary (C) Shastri Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 2. Assistant Registrar (VC Office)/ P.S. to VC for information of Hon'ble Vice Chancellor.
- 3. Secretary, UGC, Bahadurshah Zafar Marg, New Delhi.
- 4. Mr. Maneesh Rajan, Under Secretary to the Govt. of India, Ministry of Culture, BTI Section, D-Block, Puratatva Bhawan, GPO Complex, INA, New Delhi.
- 5. All the A.C. members mentioned above.
- 6. All the Deans of Faculties and Heads of the Departments.
- 7. Unit Heads of the Research Departments
- 8. Librarian
- 9. Deputy Registrar.
- 10. Assistant Registrar (Admin-II)
- 11. In- Charge M/W
- 12. S.O. Accounts Section
- 13. In- Charge, Examination Section
- 14. Notice Boards
- 15. Record file

(Dr. R. K. Upadhyay) Registrar